• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Integrally suppressed 10/22 barrels / builds

SBRSarge

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 9, 2019
I’m getting bored building AR15s.

I’m thinking of building an integrally suppressed 10/22.

I foresee it to be mostly shot with subsonic ammo for assassinating English sparrows around the house.

Accuracy goal is to be on par with my suppressed Savage FV-SR; 50 yard groups of about .75 inch.

Gemtech, Suppressed Weapon Systems and, I think LIberty, make integralLy suppressed barrels. Does anyone have experience with any of these or any others?

Also, I have zero experience building or shooting the 10/22. Is it worth buying an aftermarket action and trigger group as far as accuracy is concerned? Or do I just find a donor Ruger to part out.

Thanks in advance.

My experience is the stock action is a fine start, once the cleaning hole is drilled. Trigger and most other parts are best after market. Great idea for a thread. Looking forward to following it.

Thanks Downtown. I’m hoping for a great info dump for me to absorb!

Look into Brimstone gunsmithing for trigger work.
I have several of them and they make shooting enjoyable.

Budget will drive it but if it were me

action - full Kidd or TacInc left handed side charger with Kidd 2 stage.

stock would be up to you but I like the KKC stock

barrel would be something like the TBA trooper 22

or Thompson machine operative

Last edited:
I appreciate all who have posted so far.

I’d not heard of the TBA or Thompson Machine barrels. That adds more options for me to ponder.

I have noticed that most integral suppressed barrel makers tout how quiet their barrels are, but there is not as much said on how well they group.

Anyone have some experience with this?