• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Intro - Be gentle

TwoLeftThumbs

Private
Minuteman
Jan 6, 2011
Seattle, WA
First, I'm sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong forum. I attempted to find a more generic/conversational category, but this seemed to be the winner as most of the others are very specific.

Second, hi there. My name's Ryan and I'm very new to this whole world. New, as in just getting interested in the sport of long range shooting. I have a few friends who recommended Sniper's Hide as a good forum to join to get some recommendations, general information and meet some responsible, knowledgeable folks. This sounded good to me as I know basically nothing, but am open and willing to learn. I've always been curious about long distance. There's something about the patience and exactness of it that's endlessly fascinating to me.

All that said, I guess the main question is: Where should I start? (Would you folks recommend a book? Renting anything and everything I can get my hands on or should I start with a few specific models? Are there any schools or classes that I should look for to start with?) I know it seems like a really broad question here, but I want to go about this right and would love to hear some opinions.

So then, I'll shut up and listen.
smile.gif

Re: Intro - Be gentle