• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Rifle Scopes IOR or Leupold, advice needed, first-timer...

westford86

Minuteman
Aug 3, 2010
Anchorage, AK
<span style="color: #990000">---- UPDATE!!! I've purchased a scope. No need to keep this going. ---- </span>

Hello everyone, I'm new to Snipers Hide, and I'm about to buy my first longer range optic. I would like to make my purchase tomorrow. I'm an AR shooter, I just got a new SPR upper and the last thing I need to complete it is glass. What I have isn't a strict copy of the Mk12, but based on it - LaRue Stealth Receiver, 13.2 handguard, low profile gas block and BCG, with a 1/7.7 twist 18" Kreiger barrel.

My ideal scope is a USO ST-10 with all the goodies, I have talked to USO about the spec and hopefully I can get one ordered before the end of the year; I've just got to save up or find a great deal on a used one…

As of right now I'm getting a little impatient to start shooting my new upper. I'm looking at getting a scope to hold me over and then sell once it comes time to finish paying off the USO. I've narrowed my choice down to two options, both used, and from listings on here and AR15.

These are my two choices - Leupold Mark 4 10x40 Mil Dot with M1 turrets and side focus $700 - or - IOR 2.5-10x42 FFP lit MP8 reticle $675