• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Is 300 Blackout/Whisper accurate?

MitchInOR

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 1, 2008
Oregon, Willamette Valley
This is a round I have been contemplating for a few years now. It seems that this is made for AR-15 to run subsonic although it gets chambered in other platforms and ran at super sonic velocities. Searching a few forums I am not finding a lot of information on subsonic accuracy in an AR-15. Most accuracy claims I have found are with full power loads and/or bolt action rifles.

That said if you are running this in an AR-15 with subsonic heavies any claims on how your rifle shoots as far as moa and specs of your rig would be much appreciated.

Re: Is 300 Blackout/Whisper accurate?

Well, it seems the blackout round is becoming a favorite among alot of people including me. I have a friend that has just built a Noveske 300 Blackout rifle and it shoots very good with his reloads. I am actually impressed with it to say the least.

I should get more time behind my Whisper and Blackout barrels soon. So far no real idea on how accurate they are but MOA at least should be obtainable once I get loads figured out.

I have a 300 whisper and a 300/221 fireball. I have only shot subsonics 240 sierras and VV N110. Both shoot one hole at 50 yards. Group opens up to one inch + or minus a little at 100 yards. No little groups for me at distance. 300 whisper is in AR platform, 300/221 is in bolt form. Accuracy is the same in both. I think if the powder filled more of the case it might become more consistant.

Eddie

My short barrel upper will hold just under 1MOA out to 250 or so if I weigh every charge.

When throwing 10 gns or under of powder, being off just a little plays hell on your vertical. ES/SD is critical.