• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Is my thinking right on additional elevation needed for 2M shot?

rogerg12

Private
Minuteman
Dec 25, 2020
Palm Harbor, FL
I'm a long range target newbie. I've got a Begara 6.5 CM rifle. After a few months of practice and some lessons, I'm routinely hitting at 800 yds. My long-term personal goal is to hit 2M. Looking at my Kestrel BC it says I need 142 Mils of elevation adjustment for that shot. My Athlon 4-29x56 scope gives me 30 Mils. I have a 20 Mil scope mount. I bought an Ivy Adjustable Scope Mount that gives me 60. So, 60+30+20 gives me 110 Mils...so I'm 32-Mils (32 x 3.6 in=115 inches) short? So, I need to make that up using my base starting point, a hold over, etc.? Is my basic thinking logically correct?

It’s doable if you hade perfect conditions for spotting but it won’t be easy.
Spotting will be the toughest challenge

Even spotting for my 7mm magnum was a challenge at two miles with a lot better speed, BC and mass.
It needed 75-79 mils depending on conditions.

You might consider a Charlie tarac as you’ll gain a bit of height over bore as well as elevation because with that much elevation your barrel will be an issue probably.

Also most running that much elevation are probably running an Offet like the Charlie delta.

Really I’d just stretch out your 6.5 out to maybe 2000 ish and get some experience then build something bigger

Mighty Mouse 260 and some more appropriate 2 mile options
DC1BF358-D9E9-4EFA-84A6-2ABA0401AB33.jpeg

Last edited:
It’s doable if you hade perfect conditions for spotting but it won’t be easy.
Spotting will be the toughest challenge

Even spotting for my 7mm magnum was a challenge at two miles with a lot better speed, BC and mass.