• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Is over bore that important at 1000 yards and under?

Rougarou504

Private
Minuteman
Jun 23, 2022
Louisiana
Hi all,

I am thinking about buying a NX8 F1 4-32 to put into my Daniel Defense V7 PRO with an 18" Barrel, I know it's overkill for the shooting range of the 5.56, but I'm sure 1000 yards is possible. As this is something I bought to be my everything rifle, maybe some competitions down the road too, I kind of want the mount rings to be 1.75 height to accommodate for NV or masks, also just to be able to use it more readily from the shoulder. I am new to long range shooting, will it sitting that high over bore make it difficult to make shots at a thousand yards and under? That is the range I want to be able to operate effectively within, so should I just go with flat over bore rings or will I be ok with the 1.75" or 1.95 even? Will the differences in long range shooting be drastic?

Thanks for reading my question.