ISO: Left Hand Shotgun

Nicholas Borne

Private
Minuteman
Apr 14, 2020
From a Lefty who has formerly owned a LH shotgun, have you had one before? and why do you want one that's Lefty?

MNhunter1

Private
Minuteman
May 6, 2020
I'm a lefty and shoot all RH shotguns. That being said, I've been seriously looking at the Savage 220 LH to replace my 870 Super Slug. I believe Savage offers both the 212 and 220 in LH options.

Nicholas Borne

Private
Minuteman
Apr 14, 2020
I was just curious. I used to have a lefty Rem870. I switched back about 10-12 yrs ago. I realized I could identify stoppages in the ejection port and manipulate the bolt/clear malfunctions without losing my master grip. most shotguns now you can reverse the safety for lefty. I have no experience with the Savage line. Hope you find what you are looking for.

houndog

Private
PX Member
Minuteman
May 6, 2005
So I assume you are looking for a tactical shotgun, not a trap or skeet gun.

BisSilent

Trailer Park Engineer
PX Member
Minuteman
Jun 15, 2020
Being a lefty and shooting a right handed shotgun all my life I decided to get a southpaw shotgun when I started hunting geese 10 years ago. I purchased a super black eagle II. I would rather have a right handed shotgun with the left handed buttpad....still!!!!

bhoges

Sergeant
PX Member
Minuteman
Nov 11, 2003
Plainview,NY
I agree get a right hand shotgun. Its easy to load and clear when the port is on your side. I have a LH 11-87 trap but I prefer RH models. With my 870 Police I'm able to load and shoot faster then a righty since my hand doesn't leave the grip.

Disfunctional_Engineer

Sergeant of the Hide
PX Member
Minuteman
Jul 27, 2020
Lefty here. I grew up shooting a Ithaca 37 I inherited from my grandfather. Dad changed the safety over to LH and I changed it back to RH for my son.

Bottom eject and there are a variety barrel configurations. Four generations and 57 years later it’s still going strong.