• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Just getting started!

Maveroid

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Jul 21, 2018
Hi guys,

I’m new to reloading and have currently have no experience other than what After lots of research, here’s the list I plan on buying. A few items I’ve already bought. I’m just wondering if there are items I’m missing or don’t need to get started. Also, what would be a good first reloading book?

Down the road I plan on upgrading scale first and getting a annealer. I like the buy once, cry one saying. That being said, if my money would be better off up front on something please give me your opinions.

Thanks for any input!

Nick
4F3F0ED9-54C0-4E58-B582-A79307685531.png

I would add a headspace comparator. And unless I missed it or you already have one, a digital micrometer.

I would add a headspace comparator. And unless I missed it or you already have one, a digital micrometer.
I do have some mitutoya dial calipers but looks like digital set would also be a much better idea for this. I’ve added a them to my list along with a Hornady comparator set. Thanks for the help!

On calipers I use a set of mitutoya dual calipers. I’d save your money and stick with them until you decide you need the digital.
I think getting the powder measure stand shouldbe more of a need than a want. it will help set up a smooth workflow.
If you’re going to use the type S dies don’t forget to get the proper bushing.
looks like you didn’t list lube either. If you’re just starting out / low volume I’d recommend they hornady unique, or imperial sizing wax.
mid you’re going stainless steel cleaning I’d highly suggest a media separator, and maybe a dryer.