• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report Just wanted to say thank you.

Jaron3

Private
Minuteman
Jul 23, 2017
I’m relatively new to long range shooting. Ive been reading tons of posts on this site about equipment, fundamentals etc but never shot a rifle at unknown distances. This past Tuesday I was off work and the day was warming up into the 40s with little wind so I decided to shoot at distance...for me anyway. I found a spot in an old slate dump that I could shoot from but my range finder couldn’t range that far. I got on google earth and “ruled” the distance as best as I could. After verifying my zero and running the info into the ballistic calculator, also a first for me, I dialed the scope and made a first round hit at 628 yards. I’m sure there was some luck involved, especially with the range estimation, but it surprised the hell out of me. After my target was gone I began shooting pieces of slate that I could see on the slate hill at the same range and had really good success at that as well. 24 shots were fired. 3 for 100 yard zero check, 20 at distance and 1 more at 100 to confirm zero again. I wanted to thank you for the info and experience you provided me. I’m positive it played a major roll in getting my shooting position more stable, trigger discipline and follow through. I guess this is where I can officially say that the addiction has begun.

And down the rabbit hole you go?
And bring money wit'cha.

Actually, it's entirely possible, physically, to acquire a quite competent rifle, optic, supporting gear (bag, bipod), and factory ammo for relatively reasonable cost. But. Addiction. If a little dab'l do ya, you ain't addicted!