• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Kestrel - Which one?

SourMash

Private
Minuteman
Aug 18, 2012
GA
So I'm in the market for a Kestrel but obviously, I'm not a pro shooter (I'm actually an older guy but brand new to wanting to shoot groups at longer range). I'm going to buy a Kestrel (This weekend) but I don't know if I need the "elite" model. Can I get by for now with just a regular 5700 Ballistics meter? If I wanted to upgrade later, could it be as simple as a download package from Kestrel or would I have to purchase a whole new unit?

So I'm in the market for a Kestrel but obviously, I'm not a pro shooter (I'm actually an older guy but brand new to wanting to shoot groups at longer range). I'm going to buy a Kestrel (This weekend) but I don't know if I need the "elite" model. Can I get by for now with just a regular 5700 Ballistics meter? If I wanted to upgrade later, could it be as simple as a download package from Kestrel or would I have to purchase a whole new unit?
You can upgrade it later but it costs 300 dollars. If you just stay patient there are always good used elites in the PX at reasonable prices.

I had an ABS model I let go of, I never used the features, I use my phone apps for everything the meter I pull out occasionally to get a low/med/high estimate and check if something significant changes.

If you have the money get the 5700 elite abs with bluetooth.

I have an older model that works just fine for environmentals.

Just the basic 5700/sportsman is a solid piece of kit.
I started with a sportsman then upgraded it to elite.

As steel head said, the basic is fine.
I have a standard and 2 elite. I have found i prefer 4dof so thats why I have 2 elites.