• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing KMW logger head

eodusa

Private
Minuteman
Jun 22, 2008
Installation on a Grayboe stock. Notice how the back end of the stock is hollowed in the manufacturing process. Has any one filled this us with construction foam? I'm an amateur and the hardest part was cutting out the cheek piece straight. Need a band saw with wire blade.
99dd038a8941fde22d63607bc38084bf.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

You certainly deserve kudos for going headlong into the process. Keep us posted on the progress.

What did you use to cut the stock?

Last edited:
I am absolutely not an authority on "converting" the Grayboe from fixed comb to adjustable (that honor would fall to Joe Ducos) but I do have some opinions to share.

Any of the fixed comb stocks that you seek to convert should have any voids in the butt filled prior to cutting for the lower hardware assembly of ANY type of hardware including the LoggerHead. Longevity and function of the hardware once installed is likely your biggest priority with cosmetics coming in a close second.

The Grayboes will vary quite a bit on the internal voids encountered once the desired comb area is sectioned from the stock. Attached is a pic of the voids extending fore and aft of the necessary inlet cut for the LoggerHead. The voids were filled only at each end of the track which is where the LoggerHead clamp is designed to anchor.

The other pic is with the clamp installed and starting to get cosmetic cleanups to the installation.