• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Krieger Barrel Care

BradleyH

Private
Minuteman
Mar 15, 2013
Casey, Illinois
Hi guys, first off I am new to the forum. I have shot "long" (850 yards) range a few times but I am by no means an expert in shooting.

So after doing this I caught the LR virus, I then decided to buy a surgeon 300 win mag with the krieger barrel. Yes I know some may tell me this is not smart and I should have bought a different rifle first to learn on, but I figured buy a nice rifle now and not drool all over one later.

Which brings me to my question.

About a month ago I put Otis ultrabore in my barrel because I knew I would not be able to shoot for a while. I placed a few drops on a patch and swabbed the barrel with it. Then placed the rifle in the safe and have not touched it since. Did i make a rookie mistake by putting CLR in the barrel? or possible harm the bore of the barrel?

Any input would be appreciated,

Thanks!
Heath

I have a custom 300winmag with a Krieger barrel. My best advice to you is:

1: Get a bore guide from Sinclair International. One of the plastic white ones is all you need.

2: Buy Butches Bore Shine

3. Get a Dewey cleaning rod, jag, and brush for your caliber

This is all you need to clean and take care of any precision barrel. Butches will clean out carbon, copper, and all sorts of nastiness. Its gentle enough that you can let it soak and not harm your barrel. If the gun is going to sit for an extended period of time I would clean it out with Butches until the patches come out clean, and maybe run a moist patch of FP10 through it.

Last edited:
Yes your barrel is ruined. The lands are probably eaten away LOL