• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Ladder test analysis

avetjx

Private
Minuteman
Aug 1, 2014
Hello. Did a 5 shot ladder test today with my 6.5 cr masterpiece prs rifle. This is the first ladder test that I've done. I've been reloading for about 6 years and all the rounds I built used the same brass, same primer, and all were seated at the same depth. I have two rcbs chargemaster lites that were my powder throwers and were calibrated before loading rounds. I recently bought a labradar chronograph that I used to track the rounds.

As you can see from the data, my fps variability was to my eyes unbelievably high. The only real variable was the temp of the barrel. I did rest the barrel between sets but not to cold. Looking for other people's experiences with ladder testing to see if what data I collected is even close to normal and either way, looking for recommendations of what I can do to bring standard deviation to a much smaller number. Any insights are appreciated. Thanks.

1627174800872.png

1627174837887.png

What are your results with that rifle and chronograph using commercial ammo? Those numbers are a little hard to believe and I think measurement errors would have to be considered.

Reactions: avetjx
What are your results with that rifle and chronograph using commercial ammo? Those numbers are a little hard to believe and I think measurement errors would have to be considered.
Can't remember the last time outside of 22lr I've bought commercial ammo. Might have to pick some up as a baseline. factory ammo is soooo expensive :)