• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

laminated wood stocks

TrapperJ

Private
Minuteman
Dec 28, 2010
South FL
Why no love of laminated wood stocks on this forum? I needed a replacement for my gumby hogue stock on my new AAC-SD. I bought a take off Rem. laminated varmint stock from the classifieds. I absolutely love it. I fits me well. Next is pillar and action bedding. I know I'm a newbie with a question like this.

Re: laminated wood stocks

Wood aint tacti-cool. I bet there are hundreds of rifles with wood/laminate stocks on them but the tactical side of the house is four square into synthetics.

But it comes pre-camo'd. Oh well. I guess I'll have to break out the wrinkle paint and the heat gun.

Is this "tacti-cool" enough?

DSC01634.jpg

Laminate is just a word used to make plywood sound better, for a consistency reason its dangerous to use laminate stocks... not to mention they are heavier if that is a factor. modern synthetics can be much better for many reasons. But don't get me wrong my number 1 rifle is a laminate and I love it...

Let's not forget the tacticool stocks everyone orders from boyds for there .22's is laminated wood...

Lets remember that thos who did it in the 1918-70's did it with wood stock...

Cool is just like fashion.... what is in is likely to change in a few days

But a solid accurate rifle is a solid acccurate rifle. The target is hit just the same if it is the newest tacticool or an old side banging flint with a 42" barrel ( the first U.S. tacticool sniper rifle)

just an observation.........good question though