• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Lapua small vs large primer pockets

Joko111

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Apr 25, 2021
Maryland
I’m brand new to reloading and I’ve been looking at buying some 6.5 Berger factory ammo since it comes with lapua brass, but it uses srp and wasn’t sure if it causes any difference, lmk what I need to know!

I’m brand new to reloading and I’ve been looking at buying some 6.5 Berger factory ammo since it comes with lapua brass, but it uses srp and wasn’t sure if it causes any difference, lmk what I need to know!
Variation in ignition will cause variation in performance. You might find that SRP's actually perform better in your particular rifle than the LRP's. The only way to know is to test and compare. Other than that, SRP's having more material in the cartridge base leading to much less of an issue for primer pockets becoming loose. Just keep in mind that SRP's are not as hot as LRP's and could be a problem in cold climate where LRP's would be the better choice.

Last edited:
Variation in ignition will cause variation in performance. You might find that SRP's actually perform better in your particular rifle that the LRP's. The only way to know it to test and compare. Other than that, SRP's having more material in the cartridge base leading to much less of an issue for primer pockets becoming loose. Just keep in mind that SRP's are not as hot as LRP's and could be a problem in cold climate where LRP's would be the better choice.
I live in Maryland so it gets kind of cold in the winter but usually around 20-30

I live in Maryland so it gets kind of cold in the winter but usually around 20-30
Where you finding Berger 6.5 with SRP? And what bullet in it?