• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Large Rifle Primer Failure

SkiB4

Private
Minuteman
Dec 8, 2019
image.jpg

This is my first time reloading Large Rifle Primers. Using Federals. Shot during powder charge tests. First round fired, next two didn’t! I then moved on to heavier powder charge and same damn thing. 2/6 cartridges fired. The ones that didn’t fire are severely caved in and obviously have a strike. Help!!

It’s either your cases are under size so they rattle around the chamber when struck instead of setting off or your primer isn’t seated all the way in the case so the firing pin energy goes into seating it instead of crushing it. Or you have a weak spring or some sort of dirt or interference. Or you don’t have powder in them.

It looks that way to me. And many priming tools don’t seat the primer all the way down, especially when there’s a lot of resistance.

The one on the left is a sign of high pressure... other two look like loose pocket issue or not seating them far enough in.

Get your self a collet built puller and pull the ones that did not fire apart and see if they have a charge of powder. But from the looks of it, I think the primers are lose in the cases, so they are floating. Do you have another manufacture of brass you can try?

Also, what is the information on the load you are trying to use?

Debris in flash hole
No powder
Primer not fully seated.

Fired primer / case, that looks fine, plenty of radius left on primer.
Getting an optical illusion from reflection of brass that makes primer look flatter than it is.

I've had one empty round leave the bullet intact after the primer was struck.

Look for something wrong that happens 4 out of 6 times.
(like mostly wrong all the time).
Powder? Hope not.