• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

LEARN ME 'BOUT 3 PIECE REDDING DIES

BgBmBoo

Gunny Sergeant
Supporter
Minuteman
Ok...so I received my Redding 3 piece die set for my new 6XC...I am pretty new to reloading and have been using all RCBS comp. FL dies for all my loading to date.

So now I need to know what to do? I get the bushing setup...and the seating die is straight forward enough....but what do I do with the body die,etc.? The gent who built me the rifle said this die set was what I needed...I was just going to get the two piece set but was talked into the 3 piece.

Thanks in advance for taking the time to school me on this.

Take care,Stan

Re: LEARN ME 'BOUT 3 PIECE REDDING DIES

Think of the body die as a full-length die without the neck. It can bump the shoulder and sizes the sides wthout disturbing the neck tension you have chosen. Use the bushing neck die until the cases start to feel too tight when inserting into the rifle's chamber. Then use the body die at the next reloading. That will make the case good for the next "x" number of firings using only the neck die.

AG in NC

Per the Redding Website

Body Dies are designed to full length resize the case body and bump the shoulder position for proper chambering without disturbing the case neck. They are made without internal parts and intended for use only to resize cases which have become increasingly difficult to chamber after repeated firing and neck sizing...

Hope this helps

Thanks guys...I "understand" all that and have read the instructions....but how do you start off? Do you run a unfired case through the neck die first? Or start with the neck die after the first firing.

I read a lot on the 6XC that I am loading for and they say they FL size every time.