• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Left and right POI change with different powder loads?

rickster

Private
Minuteman
Jan 29, 2018
Greetings all, this is my first post and I am new to precision shooting.

I have been shooting rifle since the age of 6 (mostly plinking and hunting), but now at the age of 51 I decided to build my first precision oriented rifle. I settled on the Remington 700 in .308 as that seemed to be the most recommended starter rifle. I purchased a new 700P 5r 24" barreled action and fitted it to a Choate V-block stock. It also came with the older 40x trigger. This last Sunday I took it out for it's second round of range time. I had worked up some new loads for ladder testing as follows:

Fire formed brass from my first range trip (barrel break in procedure)
168gr SMK
2.850" COAL (this is still .125" off the lands given the R700's long free bore length)
Varget powder loaded to:
41gr
41.5gr
42gr
42.5gr
43.5gr
44gr