• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Leica HDB barometric pressure or station?

alsation

Private
Supporter
Minuteman
Feb 20, 2008
Seattle
I'm pretty new to this long range unknown distance game and bought a pair of leica geovid hb b brf's. They're really great glass w tons of features. Including barometric pressure reading. Reading on this site introduced me to the idea of barometric vs station pressure. Not entirely sure of the distinction between the two.

Does the Leica HD B give barometric or station pressure?

Thanks

Last edited:
I'm not sure what the "HD B" is, but I have a 1600B and it gives me barometric pressure. That's what really matters. IIRC, station pressure is corrected for altitude(and will fuck you up, ballistically speaking, if you live above sea level).

Say that you're at 5000' ASL and it tells you station pressure is 30.19. It can't be that high at that altitude and it's relating the pressure relative to Sea Level.

That's how I understand it. If I'm wrong, please correct me. There's some smart mo-fos in this site.

I'm not sure what the "HD B" is, but I have a 1600B and it gives me barometric pressure. That's what really matters. IIRC, station pressure is corrected for altitude(and will fuck you up, ballistically speaking, if you live above sea level).

Say that you're at 5000' ASL and it tells you station pressure is 30.19. It can't be that high at that altitude and it's relating the pressure relative to Sea Level.

That's how I understand it. If I'm wrong, please correct me. There's some smart mo-fos in this site.