• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

LH Gain twist.

Bigwheels

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
  • Jun 16, 2007
    Anacortes WA
    Hi all. I'm in the planning process for my next barrel for my 300wm. I've decided that I want to try a LH gain twist. The question is what twist? I'm probably going to run the 220 berger, 225 ELDM, or 230 berger or a tip.
    Depending on what mv I can get out of the new barrel I may also try the 250 a tip. This go around im not planning to use solids because if i freebore the barrel for those I wouldn't be able to run the others.
    My thoughts now are to go with a 9.5 to 8.5 but maybe I should go faster like 9 to 8?
    What are your thoughts?
    Thanks.

I have no personal experience w gain twist but i did spoke w Bartlein last year. I believe they recommended .75 gain max for cup and core bullets.

Last edited:
    @hic28 is running a 8.75 - 8 LH Gain Twist in his 300 PRC. Shooting factory ammo (225gr ELD-M).
    Hammering to say the least....

I was debating whether or not to make the switch to the 300prc. Hesitant because of all the new 300WM brass I have in unopened bags.
    Also wondering if you can really over stabilize a bullet if not also pushing it to obscene velocity.

I was debating whether or not to make the switch to the 300prc. Hesitant because of all the new 300WM brass I have in unopened bags.
    Also wondering if you can really over stabilize a bullet if not also pushing it to obscene velocity.

Hi,

That would depend on what type of projectile. Jacketed or Monolithic.....you can indeed spin a jacketed projectile too fast and cause it to rip out of its' jacket; monolithics do not suffer that fate.

Sincerely,
    Theis