• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Limits of COAL beyond Saami

Rimfire77

Private
Minuteman
Feb 9, 2024
Tennessee
So I’m new to reloading for precision center fire rifle and am wondering what the more experienced Reloader’s/ pro shooter types think about what standard to obey for maximum cartridge length. I know Saami spec is considered outdated when developing a load for precision rifle, and I have also heard of the rule of thumb that we should not load less than the caliber measurement deep on the bearing surface of the bullet inside the neck of the brass. So for .308 there should be at least .308 inches of bearing surface of bullet inside the case neck. In my particular rifle I am limited to a 2.95 coal by the magazine, (Tikka CTR) and my rifle allows a COAL of about 2.940 before jamming in the lands, but with the 168 grain SMK that I have chosen to load, if I start 10-15 thou off the lands, I have definitely broken the rule of minimum of caliber bullet depth, so what’s the consensus on right and wrong here and any guidance in this regard will be greatly appreciated.

First SAAMI is not outdated. Read the purpose of the SAAMI standards. As a reloader you are not limited to interchangeability with other firearms.

The one caliber minimum seating in the neck is a generalization. You are not bound to maintaining that but you must understand the implication of reducing bearing surface in contact with the neck.

Cartridge length (COAL) and base to ogive (CBTO) have differing effects on the ammunition. COAL is a limitation that depends on magazine accommodation and it can be an issue depending on the feed ramps and bullet shape with the bullet being set back or the round jamming..