• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Lipstick on a PIG! ****Updated 9/19****

Bob L Swagger

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Minuteman
Sep 8, 2010
Base of the Appalachians
Roughly 20 or so years ago, when my sickness of rifle shooting began, I purchased a slightly used Winchester model 70 heavy varmint rifle chambered in .22-250 Remington for approximately $450 from a local gun shop. The rifle was fantastic! It came with a Bell & Carlson black synthetic stock, hinged floor plate & heavy contour stainless steel barrel with a black action. I thought I hit the lottery since the rifle was almost brand new!

At the time, I just turned 18 & really didn't make much money since I was a full time college student & only worked worked part time in a pizzeria. Eventually I saved enough money to invest in a Harris bipod, a Nikon Monarch 6.5-20x44mm optic, some RCBS dies so I could load on my fathers press & enough reloading components to get started. I quickly learned the in's & out's of reloading through trial & error. Eventually, I got the load down & this rifle quickly began shooting EXTREMELY tight groups! I couldn't believe how accurate this off the shelf, discounted, throw back shot.. Over the next few years, I shot more ground hogs, coyotes, foxes & crows than I could count with this rifle.

As the years flew by & my ongoing desire to fill my safe with Gradous custom rifles took precedence, I glanced over at the old neglected Winchester .22-250 one afternoon as it hid in the back of the safe and thought it would be nice to upgrade this little shooter since I will never sell it because it was my first.