• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Load development advice for my .308 - What's the next step?

bluto77

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 18, 2012
Houston, TX
Thank you in advance to anyone that reads through all of my post and provides insight and advice. I do appreciate it and place a high value on the knowledge I gain from this website.

I am new to reloading and relatively new to long range shooting, and this is the first load development I have done for a rifle. I started by trying various factory loads at various weights, and my .308 definitely liked the FGMM 175gr the most so I'm using those bullets and Varget powder. The Hodgdon loading manual shows a Min - Max charge for Varget of 42.0 - 45.0. Based on a number of things I've read, I left out the lower portion of the range and loaded enough to shoot 3, 3 shot groups at each charge from 43.0 to 45.0 in .2 increments. I realize 99 rounds may be overkill, but the more practice I get behind the rifle and at the loading bench the better I will get. I started at 43.0, shot all 3 groups, and proceeded through each charge weight the same way. There was no round robin. All shooting was done from a bench off of an Atlas bipod with rear bags. Below are my targets and results.