• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Load Development For First Timer

Ibelieve1776

Private
Minuteman
Jul 17, 2013
Jupiter, FL
I am new to reloading and I have all my components ready to go but Im not sure where to go from here so I would like to see what you guys have done successfully to get a good load. I need to know the process such as when is the ladder test done? Do I need to find my powder charge prior to finding the best seating depth? Do I even need to do a ladder test? How many rounds should I load and what is the best starting point and what is a good measure to increase by.

Then assuming I have my loads all ready to go to the range what process should I follow? Obviously Im setting up my Chrono but then what?

So I know that is a lot of questions but I want to be efficient and not blow through rounds.

Im shooting 300 win mag with 230 grain Berger Hybrids with Retumbo. Thank You for your help.

Last edited:
You'll get 100 different answers from 100 different shooters. Some well thought out, some not so much. Here's mine. I try to balance certainty with expediency/cost. You could easily shoot out a barrel if you want 100% confidence in the load. On the other hand if you cheap out and don't shoot enough, you could end up shooting a less than optimal load for the entire life of the barrel and not realize it.