• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Load Development - Next Steps

ABL_ZA

Private
Minuteman
Dec 4, 2021
Cape Town
Can anyone help me with best next steps for my load development?

Disclaimer:
  • I am a newbie, please help with my terminology if not correct.
  • I am new to reloading
Context:

I have a new rile - Tikka T3x 6.5CM

Only 60 rounds of 143gr ELDX through it.

Case Prep
  • Lapua Brass (virgin)
  • 1.910 case length
  • Mandrel .262
  • Deburred

OCW Test
I was using CCI 450 primers and H4350
OAL 2.855 (JAM was at 2.954 so I had to reduce it to max mag length)
100m range

GrainsShot 1Shot 2Shot 3Shot 4Shot 5AverageGroupESSD
41.4263526402635264426332637.777 MOA114.3
41.62635264726272670265326461.034 MOA4315.34
41.8Error26482663267526602661.537 MOA279.6
422699269326822670267326831.034 MOA298.96

Additional comments
I want to shoot in the NRL hunter so I need a velocity of 2658+ for 143 ELDX (to reach 380,000 power factor).

Last edited:
An OCW test looks at impact location trends, not MV trends. Also, you might consider pushing the load faster, depending on whether or not you are seeing pressure signs. 25 FPS isn’t a lot of margin to make power factor.

An OCW test looks at impact location trends, not MV trends. Also, you might consider pushing the load faster, depending on whether or not you are seeing pressure signs. 25 FPS isn’t a lot of margin to make power factor.
I did a pure ladder test last week (with magnetospeed issues) and then chose to do a combined OCW test today by shooting 5 shots measuring both impact and velocity for all of them. 5 shots at 41.4, 5 shots at 41.6 etc.

The problem is I did not get a great or obvious SD / impact combo that I want to pursue.