• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Loading .280 Remington to Full Potential

LimaKilo

Private
Minuteman
Jul 18, 2020
Coldest place on earth
I've been handloading rifle cartridges for about thirty years, but never loaded for .280 Remington before and I recently acquired a .280 Remington custom rifle with these specs:

- 24", 1-9" .280 Rem McGowen barrel with a fairly tight chamber and a long throat
- action & magazine handle up to 3.6" COAL

So far I've tested H4350 up to book max loads with various bullet weights to get a sense of the velocities & pressures. Accuracy seems promising, but velocities are on the low side and pressures seem VERY low.

I've heard that RL26 should work well with the heavier projectiles in .280 Rem, but the only official data I've found is for Berger 150s (61.0 gr max @ 2997 fps).
I haven't used RL26 before, so I ran the numbers for 168 grainers with Gordon's Reloading Tool and asked my buddy to do the same with QuickLoad - results look like this:

280_168_RL_26.png

All firsthand information about loading .280 Remington using projectiles weighing 150 to 180 grains would be highly welcome and if you happen to load .280 Rem with RL26, I'd be very interested to hear about your experiences.

If you didn't get any pressure at book max, did you try loading above that at all?

If you didn't get any pressure at book max, did you try loading above that at all?
I haven't gone above the book maximums yet.

However, I did run the numbers on GRT - for example calculated pressure for max load of H4350 (50.0 gr) with 168 HPBT was about 45 kpsi. Predicted velocities were very close to chronograph values, so I'm inclined to think the predicted pressures would also be fairly accurate.