• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Loading for a Ruger MKII (257 Roberts)

sierracharlie338

Sergeant
Minuteman
  • Mar 12, 2013
    Republic of Texas (Houston)
    I have been banging my head for a couple years now (off and on) trying to find a load for this damn rifle. I was using Hornady cases and 100 soft points. The rifle is factory from one end to the other. 22 inch sported barrel and the best I can get out of it seems to be minute of barn 1.5 MOA in reality. I cannot for the life of me figure this rifle out. Call it a personal conflict or whatever but that just isn't acceptable even for "just a hunting rifle". Yes it still has the atrocious factory trigger in it and I know that needs to be changed.

Now the catch. This was my first deer rifle that was given to me by my father when I was a teenager. Ultimately I am not opposed to putting a new barrel on it but I want to keep the rifle as close to stock as possible. I have talked to a buddy who owned the same rifle and he told me the only bullets he and a rifle building company could get it to shoot were the 115 Hornadys.

I am at my wits end. . . please help

Sierracharlie out. . .

Mine shoots right about 1 Moa with 115gn Ballistic Tips (same stock rifle)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk