• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors Loctite?

slayer 2c

Still working on it
Minuteman
  • Jan 18, 2011
    Lost.........
    Sooooo I have a Omega suppressor from SilencerCo. I seem to have a problem with my end caps coming loose during firing. I've never had a strike and want to keep it that way. Would I hurt the suppressor if I used LOW strength Loctite on it? I work in the automotive industry and know the difference so no worries there but I don't want to damage the can.

Sooooo I have a Omega suppressor from SilencerCo. I seem to have a problem with my end caps coming loose during firing. I've never had a strike and want to keep it that way. Would I hurt the suppressor if I used LOW strength Loctite on it? I work in the automotive industry and know the difference so no worries there but I don't want to damage the can.

I’m not sure it can withstand the heat

I'm not familiar with the omega so I don't know what cal it is intended to be used on. Loctite won't hurt anything but depending on the heat buildup you get it may not help either. Blue low strength loctite softens at under 200 deg F so if this is a rifle can its a good chance it won't help. Red loctite softens at 400 deg plus and will be pretty tough to get loose if you need to later.

Frank

I'm not familiar with the omega so I don't know what cal it is intended to be used on. Loctite won't hurt anything but depending on the heat buildup you get it may not help either. Blue low strength loctite softens at under 200 deg F so if this is a rifle can its a good chance it won't help. Red loctite softens at 400 deg plus and will be pretty tough to get loose if you need to later.

Frank