• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report Long range muzzle loader must be Black powder

waveslayer

Supporter
Minuteman
  • Mar 6, 2012
    CA
    So my old man drew a sweet Muzzle Loader rage for unit 15 in New Mexico, his 3rd tag in 3 years! Lucky bastard!

I want to get a new long range muzzle loader. I will buy it and give it to him, cash is tight for him. It has to be BLACK powder, no smokeless allowed.

What would you guys recommend?

I can see the headline now: "ATF vs waveslayer: despite straw purchase laws, SCOTUS confirms that the Founding Fathers didn't give a shit about sons buying guns as a surprise gift for their dads"

I've no experience with them at all, but what about one of the Whitworth replicas from Pedersoli? I think they get quite good reviews.

I own this rifle. I hunted deer with it in Upstate New York for years before centerfire rifles were finally written into law, as well as shooting it in Turkey Shoots very successfully. This is a genuine shooter's rifle. This is the rifle I lusted after.

Patched ball is very accurate out to about 75yd, then tends to veer by as much as 8" to a foot at 100yd. With Powerbelt bullets, they can hit and bring down a whitetail at 125-150yd very effectively.

Long range with a traditional Muzzle loader is an oxymoron.