• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Looking for Silhouette rifle suggestions

SMH

Sergeant
Supporter
Minuteman
Apr 11, 2007
Midwest, USA
I am a 4-H shooting sports coach with experience in many forms of competition but Silhouette is not one of them. I've never shot nor even seen it.
I want to get my better shooters started on rimfire Silhouette in preparation for a National qualifier being held in the fall.

One of my students was just disqualified in 3P at our State shoot because it was determined that it "wasn't fair" that he was using my Anschutz 2013AL while most of the other kids shot "Walmart rifles". (The 2013 rifle was legal under 4-H and NRA rules!) The winning kid shot his prone over a kneeling role and second place fired from a magazine but apparently these ACTUAL rule infractions were overlooked.
Assuming that this student doesn't quite (he was understandably very upset) I want to have him (and others) ready for 3P and Silhouette. (I expect him to be shooting the Anschutz for 3P after I have a discussion with those in charge)

So...
What would you suggest for a silhouette rifle?
I am leaning towards a semiauto unless there is a compelling reason not to.
I have heard reference to Clark, Volquartson, Tac Sol, etc. Are there others that I should consider?
Do any of these companies have a rifle particularly better suited to rimfire silhouette than the others?

Scope options (on hand) would include a Leupold 6.5-20x40 EFRTD, NF 2.5-10x32 MOARZS or NF 5.5-22x50 MOARZS

Thank you.

Volquartsen's are bug Eye precise. Tactical solutions or not.