• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Lpvo recommendations for shtf rifle

Bridgebuilder34

Private
Minuteman
Feb 13, 2021
CA
I’m putting together a shtf AR. I’d like this to be my one and done AR. If I have to take one long gun this one will be it. I have access to a 1,000+ yard range,The terrain around me is residential,urban but also open farm land. I’d like 0-600 yards. I’m willing to spend 1K-1.5K. I have limited experience with scopes,lpvos.

I was going to use a reptilia mount with a rmr mounted on top the forward scope ring.

My research has pointed me to these 3 lpvos below. Any input is appreciated. Thank you for your time.

Trijicon Credo 1-6x24 bdc

Razor HD gen 2 1-6x24 J-m1 bdc

Primary arms compact 1-8 plx m8

I have the Trijicon Credo red dot Hunter holds .223 and the Vortex Gen II and Gen II e.

I don’t see the Gen II e on your list, but if possible, for one and done, I would go with the Vortex Gen II e.

Gen II e over the Gen II because, dot performance, much easier to use magnification ring, lighter weight.

Glass. The Gen II and Gen II e both have brighter glass than the Trijicon. This becomes more noticeable in lower light conditions. The trijicon has a noticeable grey tint vs. the true colors of the Razors. This too becomes more noticeable when the sun is below the horizon.

1X performance. The Credo is really good, nice box, but the Razor has the edge. The Trijicon ocular ring does not disappear like the famed Razor does. This too becomes more noticeable in lower light conditions. The Trijicon view becomes more “tube-like”.

To me, the Razor glass seems sharper, but not by much. Maybe this is due to the true colors of the Razor glass? Not sure.