• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Physical Fitness Lumbar spine surgery

Bear Pit Exercise Routine

TRPrecision

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
  • May 7, 2018
    GA
    I am going under the knife on November 16th after 18 months of bi-lateral leg pain. Having a bi-lateral laminectomy and discectomy on L 4/5 due to stenosis and a disk herniation. For those of you whom have been through this or similar, what can I expect? Realistic recovery time? When should I be able to get back to shooting PRS? I am a diesel truck mechanic, so work is physical, realistic time off work?
    Not looking for the Dr's opinions here, looking for actual accounts from spine surgery patients.

I had mine done a few years back, L4-S1, took a few months before I was really able to return to most activities. Lots of variables to this. How well does the surgery go? How fast do you heal / recuperate? Mine ended up being more invasive due to the damage they found. I did my initial PT in the pool then advanced to regular PT with weights. I think I was 3 months post before being released for regular activity but I was not 100% and it was probably 6 months before I felt normal again.

Best advice, listen to your body, go slow, do not over do it.

Reactions: Shift Monkey
    I'm sorry to hear you have to have this procedure done.

I had my laminectomy and discectomy at the L 5/S1 in 1989. I will not candy coat it. You will be in agonizing pain for several days to several weeks. Hopefully your surgeon will provide you with adequate pain meds.

Do your rehab exercises as prescribed. Take the meds after the exercises and rest and try to relax. Try to use a little opioids as possible.