• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

M110 replacement?

Re: M110 replacement?

Well that's interesting. It sounds like they're describing the SR-25 EMC, with a set of offset back up irons.

I'm not that good with Gov speak. Does that proposal read that the new rifle has to be DI? It says the current M110 is a DI and that "the upgraded M110 must meet the operational and environmental requirements that were fulfilled by the original M110 SASS." Does that translate out to a DI or are they leaving that open?

I think it's open, meeting the operational and environmental requirements just means functioning under the conditions they subject the rifles to as part of the testing. I don't think a piston would be automatically disqualified from competing, but I think it's going to be at a disadvantage just based on that weight requirement. I know a piston system doesn't weigh a lot, but how many 7.62 platforms are under 9 pounds?

interesting, how much weight can you save? guess if you gotta hump one through the mountains a little weight saved on a rifle can be more ammo and water you can carry, plus the fuel used to ship a plan load of them over seas, an 18inch barrel would be fine, and I can see the using a Magpul UBR stock. would be a sweet Rifle.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: zink14</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I would hope they would veer away from KAC, go with a better system.... </div></div>