• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

M1A standard or national match?

grinch187

Private
Minuteman
Jan 30, 2014
Hey folks, new to the site.

Im in a dilemma... ive been shooting long range for a few years and im looking at getting a semi auto.

I want an M1A but cant decide if i should get a national match grade or a standard rifle. I dont plan on shooting further the 600 with it because I have a bolt gun for that.

Any input would be greatly appreciated

Denver

First welcome to the forums.

With the right ammunition, a standard M1A is likely to be a consistent 5 shot 2-2.5 MOA rifle with occasional groups under that. If you're going to be satisfied with that, get the Standard. A National Match will likely be closer to 1-1.5 MOA with occasional groups under that. NM has better sights, heavier barrel, better trigger, all of which add to accuracy, but add significantly to the price. A good compromise might be the "Loaded" model.

Tweaking an M1A often becomes an expensive and time consuming pastime. If you're the type of guy who likes to do that, get the Loaded. You may or may not be happy with its performance. You still can upgrade sights, gas piston, gas cylinder, trigger, spring guide, and have it bedded while you're determining the best loads for the rifle. If you want to start with the best barrel, bedding, trigger and sights, get a super match and then you can fiddle with ammunition.

FWIW, I have an M21 with a Kreiger heavy stainless barrel and a SOCOM 16. Love them both.

There's a wealth of information over on the M14 forums.

I have a super match and it is one of my favorites.