• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

McMillan Z1

King_beardsly

MMPRL & Low Dollar Precision
Minuteman
  • Jun 12, 2018
    Beast Coast
    Has anyone played around with one or had one built since I don’t see them as an in stock item on their web store. I’m like to switch from a MPA to something a little more traditional and get rid of that weird twang every time I pull the trigger in the process.

I have been using a Z1 for several months now and love it. It is super comfortable And easy to repeat my trigger hand position.

Good to hear, I like my MPA but there’s just something that drawing me back to traditional stocks.

Got one on a GAP with an Impact Action. Shoots great, fits myself and my son well. Only problem I had was with the color scheme!

20200720_154104.jpg

Reactions: Stoweit
    How does the Z1 compare to the other rifles in the picture in terms of shooting of barricades and the like? The Z series looks pretty solid.
    I know the A6 has flat sides and forend and now offered in a PRS version.

Last edited:
    How does the Z1 compare to the other rifles in the picture in terms of shooting of barricades and the like? The Z series looks pretty solid.
    Solid as can be. A419 arcalok rails work great and brass rear weights really help balance too with bigger barrels

Reference MPA XLR MDT JAE Manners

Basically the same. All are in the 20-22lb range & balance a few inches forward of the action screw. The Z1 does have a couple of pounds of lead & a spigot added to the barrel channel.

While I have several different flavors(A5 & A3-5 not shown), I tend to favor the Z1...I like the traditional look, but the parallel fore-end of a chassis.
    View attachment 7419476View attachment 7419489