• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

MDT XRS chassis issues

czgunner

Private
Minuteman
Sep 4, 2007
WY
I bought an MDT XRS chassis over black friday for a good price.
I attempted to install my Savage 110, but the recoil lug was interfering. I contacted MDT and they told me I need to have a 27mm max width lug. I ground it down a bit and it drops in now.
The current problem is that the action screws go in pretty hard. I was a mechanic for a lot of years, so I know how fasteners should feel. Also, when the screws are started, the barrel is clearly biased to the right of the chassis.
What is going on?
Does the lug need to drop in w/out any contact? It's more of a snug fig right now.
Does anybody make good aftermarket lug that works with this chassis? I think mine is from Sharp Shooter's Supply years ago.
Thanks for any help.

The lug should only contact the rear of the chassis no front no side.

Do the action screws go in hard when installed without the chassis? Aka: Is it the action/bolt interface or the chassis pushing it off kilter that’s the issue?

Yes, the lug should go in freely in the front and sides and make solid support across the rear of the lug against the chassis.

Do the action screws go in hard when installed without the chassis? Aka: Is it the action/bolt interface or the chassis pushing it off kilter that’s the issue?

Yes, the lug should go in freely in the front and sides and make solid support across the rear of the lug against the chassis.
Well, the screws are captured (strange design) in the chassis, so I'm not sure. The OEM Savage fasteners run in fine.

Reactions: smtitmelevi
I pulled the barrel and removed enough metal from the lug that it drops in without touching. The barrel still seems to be uncentered.