• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

mid-range spotters with reticle review/comparison

dgheriani

Private
Minuteman
Feb 10, 2017
Comparison of Minox MD60ZR 12-40X, Bushnell LMSS 8-40X and Athlon Cronus Tactical 7-42X spotting scopes

Firstly, I’d like to preface this by saying that I’m no glass expert. All reviews/comparisons are somewhat subjective by nature and this one is no different. I do however shoot a lot of PRS-type matches and this has shaped the requirements that I have for a spotting scope (with reticle).

To back up a bit, the first spotting scope with a reticle that I got was the Bushnell Legend Tactical. My main reason for wanting it was for team matches where sometimes (depending on format and stage times/setup) you can spot for your teammate. It seemed logical to me that a spotting scope with a reticle would permit me to give more precise corrections. Other usage would be spotting paper targets at the range when zeroing and doing load development. Being that I didn’t expect to be able to use it super frequently in it’s main intended use, I wasn’t keen on investing a large sum of cash. The Legend Tactical proved perfect for that.