• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Midas+ higher BC than Center-X?

littlepod

Minuteman
  • Oct 16, 2012
    Kirkland, WA
    instagram.com
    So this one is a odd one - I've always thought and I think the word around town is Midas+ is just the more consistent Center-X. But since I swapped to Midas+ I've been having issues with my Kestrel lining up.

I've been shooting Center-X for 2 years, running the Center-X AB Custom Curve and it's been spot on out to 350 and 2 NRL22 Nationals, and I've never had to use DSF. Then I get back some Midas+ from a recent lot test and I was having to bump the chrono'd velocity about 20 fps to get it to line up from 0-200 (this is my local range), it chrono'd at 1056, and I trued it at 1076 which made everything from 50-200 spot on.

So I was scratching my head, and I decided to create a new Vudoo profile in Kestrel, this time with the Midas+ Custom Curve, and lo and behold it lined up perfectly with my chrono'd numbers. So the Midas+ custom curve in AB has a slightly higher BC than the Center-X custom curve... what gives?

Reactions: Badjujuu
    Less projectile deformation so higher average BC? How exactly does Lapua sort their lots to determine what is Center-X, Midas or X-Act?

Reactions: 427Cobra
    Less projectile deformation so higher average BC? How exactly does Lapua sort their lots to determine what is Center-X, Midas or X-Act?

That's an interesting thought. I had heard they just run it through their test tunnels and do it by group size / es / sd. Maybe there's a correlation to the bullet deformations causing those, thus ultimately higher BC.

Reactions: Pipefitter I’m