• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Mildot Master vs. Aguilar System?

Gnab2

Private
Minuteman
Oct 10, 2007
Central Texas
I am looking at the two tools and I would like your input on the two systems. What are the Pros and Cons to each the Mildot Master system and the Aguilar System? I have zero idea omn this one. I am new to these things..

Thanks
Gnab2

Re: Mildot Master vs. Aguilar System?

Just go with the Mildot Master, it's more user friendly, fast and easy to use with a little practice, and multi-functional, since you can also use the MDM to figure out your slope dope. I don't think I've ever seen, or heard of, anyone using the Sniper Flashcards though, to me it seems like a less accurate means of determining range.

Everybody should have a MilDot Master, it will work with any of the 3 systems(Mils, MOA, IPHY) and is very cost effective.

From the Aguilar System web page:

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The Aguilar System for Medium Range Sniping only works for targets of 44”, 72”, 76”, 80” and 84”.</div></div>

If you only shoot at UKD targets with those dimensions, at medium distances, then perhaps the Aguilar System is useful.

Otherwise, as the others said, get a Mildot Master.

Some other points to consider with the purchase of a Mil-Dot Master:

• No batteries required
• Extremely versatile
• Does not require too much math in public
• Man portable
• Pretty damn durable, will not break when you drop it on the concrete
• Makes for a handy straight edge when drawing field sketches or range cards
• Can even be used to pop your partner on the back of the head when they screw up
• Provides a hard surface backing in your notebook when recording data