• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Mini review SS 5x20x50 vs Bushnell 3.5x21x50mm

MMAJunkie

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 26, 2009
Tennessee, USA
Before I give my opinion on these two I need to preface this by saying I am not an optics expert. I do not have years of experience behind high end scopes, in fact just the opposite. Just a few years back I had Leupold VXII 3x9x50s on most rifles and have been slowly upgrading. First I got a few Burris XTRs. A 3x12x50 and a 4x16x50 but those were SFP scopes so I started upgrading again for my main bolt guns which are a 308 and a 223 Savage FLCP-k that I use as my range/bench rifles. A while back I got a Bushnell 3.5x21x50 DMR with the standard G2 reticle. I put it on one of the Savages and continued to shoot the Burris XTR on the other one. Then not too long ago I purchased a SS 5x20x50 from someone here with an extra one from the group buy and put it on the other Savage. Even though I had tried to compare them by specs etc nothing replaces a day at the range behind each one.

First the 34mm tube of course causes ring selection issues so I bought some American Rifle rings for the Bushy. A bit pricey for my budget but after getting them they are top notch. The SS with a 30mm tube makes rings a lot easier to buy.

After handling the two scopes a few things come to mind even before hitting the range. Both are well built but the 34mm shorter tube Bushy is a nice looking and very sturdy piece so it takes the nod in terms of heft etc. Maybe it will fall apart but it doesnt feel like it will.