• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Moa or mil adjustments question

rsplante

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 2, 2011
Houston, TX
I finally saved up for my NightForce scope and am aiming at an 8-32x56 NXS Zerostop Mil-dot but cannot decide if I should get it in moa adjustments or mil. I realize that you will need to know more about me to help me make this decision.

Alas, I have no military or law enforcement background. I am a 56 yo Engineer who is not a hunter (yet) so I guess that makes me a paper puncher. I bought my first centerfire rifle in January of this year. It is as close to a tack-driver as one could get in a gas gun. It is a LaRue Tactical 5.56 OBR with an 8:1 20” barrel, SJC Titan compensator, Harris bipod and Magpul PRS stock. I am still working on my own accuracy and working up a cartridge, so I am still at 100 yd. My range only goes out to 300 yd, but I am thinking of also joining one which goes to 1000 yd. (I will have to go single shot 80 gr bullets to be allowed beyond 600 yd.) I picked up a 10-40x50 Osprey scope at a gun show to hold me until I could save up for my NightForce. At the same gun show, I bought a box of genuine Hornady TAP (not the FPD stuff) and shot a five shot group of 0.4moa at 100 yd. I was firmly bitten by the accuracy bug then, but didn’t want to continue spending $1.70/round, so I figured I’d save money by starting to reload (hah).