• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Model 70 bedding question

Maurice

Private
Minuteman
Dec 6, 2023
South Florida
Newbie here, with a new Model 70, in 30-06. Its an Alaskan - walnut stock.

In a nutshell.... I took the barreled action out of the stock to clean the factory crud, and noticed the action screws are engaging by very few threads. The front one from 35in/lbs to "no engagement" is 3-3/4 turns. Not much. Rear screw is about one turn more. That front screw has about .178" engagement, calculated by the thread pitch (1/4-32).

To me, it looks like the factory bedding is pretty tall, and they didn't quite get the action fully into the stock. I'd like to grind out the factory bedding (or most of it at least) and re-bed things lower. Its only bed at the recoil lug and front receiver ring, and at the receiver tang in the back. In other words, not a fully bedded action, which is fine with me for my use.

The issue I have is, how much clearance to give the magazine box? Right now, with the floorplate open, and the bolt open, I can reach in and push the metal box up and down about 1/8 inch or so, and the box is bottoming out on the stock wood, rather than the bottom metal, so in reality, there's a bit more like 3/16 inch of potential that the action can be sunk into the wood. When I get things ground out and re-bed, how much wiggle room should that magazine box have?

Mag box should be reasonably firm, not loose inside the stock but not a crush fit - think a few thou clear before torquing the action screws, too tight you risk stressing the action and opening up its groups

Reactions: Maurice