• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

More with Less

texasvmi

Private
Minuteman
Apr 11, 2010
WHERE EVER UNCLE SAM SENDS ME
I am currently a student at the US Army Command and General Staff College. One of the requirements during the course is to conduct Strategic Communication. I have chosen to throw myself to the lions and post a question Blog on my favorite discussion site. I am a shooter and know a few of you personally. I am proud to be a member of this community.

My question to the readers is "'Recently the DOD has been dealing with the future reduced budget. 'Do more with less' is quickly becoming the mantra within the ranks of the military. How do the tax payers, veterans, and service men and women parents feel about the 'do more with less' idea? With Iraq drawing down and a political promise of a draw down in Afghanistan, do you think the military could in fact do more with less? I am interested to hear all opinions, possible solutions, or opposing ideas. Please keep the hate comments, or flaming to a minimum as they will be reviwed by my classmates. Thank You.

David W. Gray
MAJ, AR
CGSC SG20C
Veteran: Iraq 03-04, 05-06, Afghanistan 2008-2009

Re: More with Less

Sir,

As a former Business Development Rep. for Government Contracts I have a few observations from the other side of the fence. The EFY "rush" to spend units funds can get absurd at times. Here are a few things I have thought of to reduce this:

1) Stop reducing following FY budgets due to unspent prior FY funds.
2) Make OER Bullets for coming in under budget, with mission accomplishment.
3) More OIC discretion on budgetary issues down to the Battalion Level.