• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Mosin sniper value

Bob7608

Private
Minuteman
May 1, 2012
TX
At my
Local gun shop found two mosin sniper models with scope. one a 1931 year with a 15XX serial number and another was a 1942 model 16XX or so model. Both going for 579 a piece. Both appear to be in 95% good shaped and both have the import mark on them. Which one would be worth more at face value. I'm not an expert on mosins

Re: Mosin sniper value

I can almost guarantee you that those are "repro" snipers. They were/are available at some vendors for much less than that price.

There were some very nice repros recently sold at AIM surplus. The ones at AIM were that same price, http://www.aimsurplus.com/product.a....62x54R+Mosin+Nagant+Sniper+Rifle&groupid=254

So I do not see him selling AIM repros at the same cost he paid for them.

You did not mention if they were izhevsk mosins, as real izhevsk snipers will have an additional serial number along the side of the receiver.

If you want a real Mosin sniper, one cam still be had at Rguns http://www.rguns.net/rifles/rifles-bolt.shtml, they go for $800.

Sorry, I had to.

QQ2l1.jpg

CBM I lol'ed. Which side of the receiver are the additional numbers on?

Should be on the left side, the additional serial should match the scope. The AIM repros do have the matching serial and seem to be a very quality reproduction http://www.russian-mosin-nagant-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=6277&start=40

and if he is selling them for the same price as online, that is a pretty nice deal. Even as a repro, the value will not go down. Just that for an additional $200 you can get a real sniper.