• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Most accurate 308 bolt gun out of the box?

Likely a savage. Model 10/12, or get a Savage LRP in 6.5 Creedmoor and a couple cases of Prime ammo and you should be GOLDEN and within max budget!!!

I have no experience with the Tikkas, but some of them are possible candidates as well. If you aren't set on the 308 for a specific reason, a 6.5 caliber has much better ballistics.

Reactions: Zeroit
Many options in your price range.
Tikka, Howa, Ruger Precision, Savage and even remington.
First, you need to decide if you want a standard configuration for your rifle or a chassis system.
With the Ruger, though it is not a true chassis system, what you get is what you get. You can change the buttstock and the fore end, but you still have a chassis style rifle (nothing wrong with that, they are excellent shooters).
If you want a more conventional rifle, then the Tikka, Savage, Howa and Remington are worth a look.
They can also be had with chassis systems.

It is really hard to beat the Howa Bravo, all the attributes of a chassis, but feel like a rifle stock.

If you were to hop in a time machine and go back 5-6 years ago, Savage was fairly well favored here, although with admitted shortcomings. Now, they are a source of ridicule. They still shoot well.