• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Moving ejection from 5 o'clock to 3:30, more gas or less?

Jason3270

Private
Minuteman
Apr 26, 2022
Usa
I'm new to adjustable gas blocks, go easy

After a two week long brutal (and expensive, way too many rounds, probably 80 rounds) battle with the (unbelievably hypersensitive) gas/bcg/CH/buffer on my newly built 6.5cm AR10, I've finally achieved lock back on an empty magazine, as well as chambering the next round.

- I've filed burrs from the charging handle.
- I've removed weight from the buffer.
- I've oiled the buffer spring.
- I've cleaned everything that needed to be cleaned, multiple times.
- Running the bcg on the wet side of things

Nit picky as this might sound, if like to move the ejection pattern forward slightly. Do I need more gas, less gas or something else entirely? I think a half turn in the correct direction would probably do it.

Rule number 1 of SH. If it ain’t broke, fix it until it is.

That said, ejection typically moves clockwise as you reduce gas to the system. So, an overgassed rifle might throw at 1 or 2 o’clock, while an undergassed rifle may throw at 4 or 5.

But, the first question I would ask is “do I have a problem?” If no, stop.

Opening the gas should move your ejection back to 3:30, or 2, or 1, etc…

Rule number 1 of SH. If it ain’t broke, fix it until it is.

That said, ejection typically moves clockwise as you reduce gas to the system. So, an overgassed rifle might throw at 1 or 2 o’clock, while an undergassed rifle may throw at 4 or 5.

But, the first question I would ask is “do I have a problem?” If no, stop.

Opening the gas should move your ejection back to 3:30, or 2, or 1, etc…