• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Moving on from the Eotech VUDU 5-25

Charger442

Sergeant
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Nov 2, 2010
    South Texas
    Ive been using my Vudu for a couple of years now on my multi-tasking, 16.5" barrel 308. It rides in the truck with me easily as the direct thread can stays on all the time, so its a varmint/hog rifle, deer hunting rifle, general all around "im going to the ranch and may need this gun for a bunch of stuff" rifle. its not pretty, surgeon action coated green, a used Krieger barrel fluted, Mcmillan stock and topped with the Vudu.

My last hunting trip on monday i started to become more aware of what i always knew was a deficiency in the Vudu. Tough eyebox, very sensitive to relief and angle, especially at higher mag. on top of that, the H59 gets very thick and distracting when hunting at under 300 yards. The things ive always liked about the Vudu was the easily adjustable zero set on the turrets, the short length and the weight.

I want to replace this scope with something that is not a tree reticle, is similar in short length and weight, but i believe im going to have to shell out some coin to do it. for reference, vudu is 11.2" long and 29.5 ounces

here is where im leaning in the order that i give them for my uses:

1) March FX 4.5-28x52; 12.5" long, 29.8 ounces, FML-LDK reticle (on sale at Euro $3125)
    2) ZCO 4-20x50; 12.8" long, 34.8 ounces, MPCT-1 reticle (i own one of these, it sits on my AW in 260, currently) (price- $3700)
    3) S&B US 5-20x50; 11.8" long, 32.52 ounces, P4L reticle (price $3600)