• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

MRAD 338 reload problems

jdppilot

Private
Minuteman
Dec 13, 2023
Kentucky
I have been reloading 338L for several years with my RPR with no issues. I purchased a MRAD and the cases get stuck in the barrel. My dies do not compress the case enough to work in the MRAD (new dies)... any suggestions?

Sounds like either that chamber is at minimum spec and the dies are big or you are overpressure and getting too much plastic deformation in the brass wh8ch the die cannot compress enough.

Reactions: diverdon
How much are you bumping back the shoulder right now? This is just something your going to have to work around. Each rifle has its process/recipe some are simple and others are complicated. Bust out the sharpe, paint a case and chamber it. I wouldn't buy anything just yet till you figure out where its sticking.

From the best I can tell it is sticking near the base of the case. The reloaded case is a couple of thousands larger at the base than the new brass and my RCBS dies will not compress it back to original size. FYI..I have fired that brass in the RPR and that may have expanded it to a larger diameter, but I thought that the full case resizer would have narrowed that back down?

From the best I can tell it is sticking near the base of the case. The reloaded case is a couple of thousands larger at the base than the new brass and my RCBS dies will not compress it back to original size. FYI..I have fired that brass in the RPR and that may have expanded it to a larger diameter, but I thought that the full case resizer would have narrowed that back down?

Sometimes cases fired in a larger chamber won’t size down far enough to fit in a smaller chamber.

Get new brass.