• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Multiple action review- long Updated

Matt_3479

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 12, 2009
To start I’d like to say I’m no expert, and my experience in the shooting world has been more limited then some. I have shot nrl/prs 22 matches, 2 “precision matches” (use to be a Canadian variant) and a ton of friendly comp or shoots out too 1100. I am just an avid shooter and hunter, and love the precision game!!

We see 10’s of posts each year asking about which action is best or some version of that. I am here to give my opinion and feedback from my experiences with the different actions I own to hopefully help someone else in the road to purchasing. I am no machinist or gunsmith so this is from the users point of view and there is obviously different views from the gunsmith side of things. Please remember this is 1 mans opinion and not a which is better then which. So let’s get into it,

1.) stiller tac 30; (2 different tac 30’s)

The stiller has proven so far to be a good action, but it isn’t my favourite and probably wouldn’t purchase another. At the time I purchased they were using 2 piece bolts and 2 different smiths that worked on mine and my shooting partners said they weren’t 100% square and required minor work to make them perfect which in my opinion shouldn’t be the case with an aftermarket action. The bolt lift is id say average, and the bolt cycle is pretty smooth. We’ve ran in some dirty conditions and the nitride tac 30 held perfect but my cerekote action slowed down off the get go. It was too tight with cerekote and took many of many dry fires and shots to wear in properly. Overall a good action but I definitely feel there is better for the money.

2.) kelbly atlas tactical and kelbly obsidian