• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Muzzle brakes and thread pitch

tilman2141

Private
Minuteman
Jan 16, 2022
Kentucky
I’m having a couple of rifles built as we speak and I’m wanting to put muzzle brakes on them. I’m looking at the area 419 hellfire match brake. My question is my barrel is a benchmark contour #6 and is .750 at muzzle, so when I look at the brakes they have 1/2x28 and 5/8x24 threading. Caliber is 284 winchester, so does it matter which threading I go with or not? Thanks. Complete newbie to brakes so be easy on me if this seems like a stupid question.

Like Rooster said, definitely go 5/8x24 on everything you can, if there's enough meat on the barrel to build a proper shoulder. And, I would even run 5/8x24 on any future bolt-action centerfire .22 caliber rifle builds, like a .223, .22-250, .22 Nosler, .224 Valkyrie, etc... But, if you can't, it won't hurt to go 1/2x28 on a 7mm as long as you plan on putting a steel muzzle brake on it, to support the threaded portion of the barrel, as 1/2x28 will leave the walls a bit thin on a 7mm bore...Just my opinion. There are some folks who have threaded some military .30 caliber barrel at 1/2x28, but I wouldn't recommend it.

Worst case scenario, you could always thread it 1/2x28, and then install a 1/2x28 (F) to 5/8x24 (M) thread adapter on it with some Rocksett... And let it cure fully for 24 hours minimum, and it will be rock-solid as if it was an original part of the barrel. It's not ideal, but it would work fine. Just make sure you get a high-quality adapter and then check your suppressor bore alignment after installation with an alignment rod before pulling the trigger one it. 👍🏼